The reason why we created the Ruter Dam of the Year honorary award in 1990

When Ruter Dam was founded in 1987, there were no women in large companies on top-level. The exception being Antonia Ax:son Johnson, who always been an important role model. She inherited her position, which she managed and developed with honour.


When Kerstin Stenberg was appointed Deputy CEO and CFO of the PK Bank in 1990, it was sensational. Ruter Dam presented the nomination and for the first time awarded Ruter Dam's Honorary Award to PK Bank, CEO Christer Zetterberg and the appointed CEO Kerstin Stenberg. At the time it was very brave to appoint a woman to such a post. Today, there are many female managers at the same level, which is very pleasing.


Selection process for the Honorary Award Ruter Dam of the Year

Ruter Dam's board monitors nominations on the highest levels. At a jury meeting, the board decides which woman has been given the greatest responsibility during the year in terms of number of employees, turnover and total responsibility.


Award ceremony

During the Ruter Dam Award ceremony, in mid-October each year, we award the honorary Ruter Dam with a diploma and the honour to the chosen female manager who has been promoted and been given the greatest leadership responsibility during the year. In 1997 and 2007, the Honorary Award was presented by Her Majesty the Queen.

See previous award ceremonies on YouTube